Author Topic: Using Contractors  (Read 3844 times)

Using Contractors
« on: January 18, 2011, 07:16:13 PM »
And finally, is it worth buying now, are prices coming down, going up? I have little knowledge of the housing scene.

We are in Angeles City.

I went to a good real estate person to buy land in Lakeshore, Mexico. She was very professional and I would highly recommend her. She also recommended a builder, who I used. He and his family were also very professional and trustworthy. They completed by home to my specifications and ON TIME... I would also recommend them. As far as financing is concerned, my wife got the financing but we are still living and working in the US. The mortgage was for 5 years, and we put 50% down. Interest rates are high, but paying early helps to reduce that. If you are interested I will give you the real estate and builder\'s information.
We\'ve bought the land now, in Timog, but I\'d appreciate the name of the builder you recommend. We have one guy sort of in mind, but nothing decided yet, and it would be nice to have alternatives to look into.

Offline rdjlazo@yahoo.com

• Sr Member
Using Contractors
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 08:14:30 AM »
Folks also check the cost of materials you are using
and best is get your drawings done including the materials
cost estimate. Go to materials suppliers such as
plumbing, electrical, hollow blocks, sand cement, roofing, flooring etc,
Once you get familiar with material cost then you can have an idea
what it will cost you to build. I will only hire contractors on labor  and
administration only
and will get suggestions where to buy. Check the  prices of diff suppliers.
Next is the labor cost. A good engineer
or architect can give you all that but if the architect will
be the contractor then you you will be in the dark as
to real cost. Lastly handle the cash disbursements on purchases
even the payroll of your workers so you don\'t stay in the dark