Living in The Philippines > Immigration,Visas to stay in the Philippines

GOT QUESTIONS RE: COURTESY SRRV FOR VETS

(1/4) > >>

nwlivewire:
GREETINGS!

First time poster, so go easy on me please. :)

I am a recently retired US Vet, still living in the States (female, past age 50).

I just found out about a courtesy SRRV for Vets in the Philippines.

Sometime this Spring/Summer 2015, I will be making my way throughout SE Asia for a six month self-directed excursion/trip/adventure.  Dates aren't firmed up yet - still getting all the planning/paperwork/Stateside affairs buttoned up.

Besides satisfying my desire to learn/know more about the many different cultures in SE Asia, it is my desire to use my Post 9/11 GI Bill at a college/university in SE Asia (have a few choices narrowed down & will be "boots on the ground" to visit them in person while I'm in their neighborhoods).

My questions are regarding this courtesy SRRV for Vets - and I thank-you for responding in advance!....

1.  Is this Visa still "alive" and available for use these days?

2.  In the reading I've done, everything states I will need some sort of a police check.  What kind and from which police agency?  I'm still living here in the States, so is this from the City Police, County Police, State Police, or the FBI?

3.  From what I've read, I can show up in Manila and get this SRRV Courtesy Visa.  I need a Police check report, my DD-214, 1,400 USD for the SRRV, 1,500 USD for a bank account set-up, and a US passport (mine will be a new one with lots of unused pages as my old one expired).  I meet the minimum monthly pension requirements (VA Comp/military retirement, etc).

**** Do I need any other documents that I can/need to get here in the States BEFORE I arrive in Manila?  I'd hate to get all the way over to Manila, only to find out I am missing a document that can only be procured by my having to be physically present back in the States!