Author Topic: Pressure tanks, water pumps and thou.  (Read 9503 times)

Offline JD

• Sr Member
Pressure tanks, water pumps and thou.
« on: March 06, 2015, 11:56:31 AM »
We're being quoted a price for installation of a pressure tank and pump with our house construction n Davao. Water is supplied via HDPE pipe from the meter a short way down the road. As far as I can gauge the use from being present when the single tap is used by the crew currently building our perimeter wall, the pressure seems good in the afternoon but low in the morning. This is the same with our rental house in a nearby subdivision.

I have no experience with water tanks and pumps, only some experience with dry fire sprinkler systems that use air compressors to keep the pipes pressurized. With those systems, the compressor may turn on anywhere from a couple of times a day to a couple of times an hour, depending on the airtightness of the system.

We're being told to get the tank and pump but to install a diverter to use during the times when pressure is good. Do this, we're told, to avoid an outrageous electric bill from the pump turning on time after time all day.

I'd really hate to find out that once the water is delivered to all the taps in our home, the city pressure stinks and have to run the pump all day. Alternately, does anyone know, are those centrifugal pumps really that expensive to run?

Thanks for any help.

JD

Offline coleman2347

• ole jarhead, Tacloban City, Leyte
  • Sr Member
  • Retired Marine, Retired DOD
Re: Pressure tanks, water pumps and thou.
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 12:16:55 PM »
I think you notice the drop in the morning because most are cooking breakfast, showering before work etc.