Author Topic: What Should I Bring??  (Read 459 times)

Offline MadDog

What Should I Bring??
« on: August 18, 2018, 07:25:48 AM »
OK, I have a few years before I can retire. I understand that the Philippines will let you bring some household good if you are going to live there. What kinds of things would a person want to bring that would benifit? I was thinking basic tools for fixing stuff and may be some kitchen stuff. What would be the best advice for stuff? Thank you all.

Offline lost_in_samoa

• Sr Member +
  • Sr Member
Re: What Should I Bring??
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2018, 08:25:30 AM »
basic tools for fixing stuff

Here is my two cents on the portion of your question that I have some experience with.  How much you wanna fix?  I see in one of your earlier posts that you are considering hobby farming. 

Well lots of things break on a farm.  More importantly lots of parts/materials that you take for granted are not available, of really poor quality, or named under some obscure dialect nick-name and are not locatable unless you manage to decipher the super secret moose and squirrel slang.

Ordering work stuff off-island and shipping it in is playing Russian roulette with Customs.  Really expensive, and usually has a long shipping delay.

Then there is the electricity differences as it applies to your tools.  Transformers readily available in the province are not going to cut it.

All of that being said,

I shipped in an older ShopSmith.  What folks in that sub culture call a "Greenie".  All metal construction.  Designed to be locally serviced.  For the most part uses standard tool implements.  Most importantly it is a multi function platform that allowed me to bring in 7 bench power tools in one small system.

I can machine wood / plastics / soft metals with acceptable accuracy.  But it does have a large learning curve.

I also shipped in an arc welder / generator.  But I see a lot of them here now, so you may skip that part.