Philippines Insider" The Ultimate Philippines Travel Guide for Tourists and Expats
Philippines Insider" The Ultimate Philippines Travel Guide for Tourists and Expats

Author Topic: Philippine Political Families  (Read 9914 times)

Offline Hank

  • Sr Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Philippine Political Families
« on: September 01, 2019, 12:19:14 AM »
The major political families in PH after the 2019 elections

Rappler counts at least 163 families whose members include a senator, a House representative, or a governor, serving at the same time as relatives in other local positions

By Michael Bueza and Glenda Marie Castro
Published: 3:28 PM, August 31, 2019

MANILA, Philippines – Elections come and go, but many political families in the Philippines manage to retain their strong hold over their respective areas.

The 2019 midterm elections were no different. While Filipinos voted out the likes of the Estradas and the Eusebios, many of the same powerful clans elsewhere won fresh terms in office.

The Philippines' top seat of power itself belongs to a political family. President Rodrigo Duterte hails from Davao City, where his children hold elective posts: Sara Duterte is mayor, Sebastian Duterte is vice mayor, and Paolo Duterte is the city's 1st district representative.

Rappler maps these major political families, starting with the senators, representatives, and governors, and their relatives who won in the 2019 polls ...

See here:

(Click on or hover over the dots to know more about a politician from a political family. You may also zoom in or out of the map.)

Half of both chambers are from political families

Based on 2019 official election results, there are at least 163 political families whose winning members include senators, House representatives, or governors.

Of this number, 88 political families are in Luzon, 29 in the Visayas, 44 in Mindanao, and two families are in separate island groups: the Suansings in Luzon (Nueva Ecija) and Mindanao (Sultan Kudarat), and the Arroyos in Luzon (Pampanga) and the Visayas (Negros Occidental).

Two more political families serve in different provinces, but in the same island group: the Amante-Matbas in Agusan del Norte and Tawi-Tawi, and the Mangudadatus in Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao, all in Mindanao.

Among the regions, only the Cordillera Administrative Region seems to be less prone to family rule, with the provinces of Abra, Apayao, and Benguet having only one major political family each.

In Congress, 14 of 24 senators belong to a powerful clan, while in the House, 162 of 300 representatives do – indicating that about half of members come from political families.

Of the 14 senators, 5 are from Metro Manila: Senators Cynthia Villar (Las Piñas City), Nancy Binay (Makati City), Pia Cayetano (Taguig City), Senate President Vicente Sotto III (Quezon City), and Sherwin Gatchalian (Valenzuela City).

Seven senators are from Luzon: Imee Marcos (llocos Norte), Juan Edgardo Angara (Aurora), Joel Villanueva (Bulacan), Ralph Recto (Batangas), Panfilo Lacson, Ramon Revilla Jr, and Francis Tolentino (all from Cavite).

Senators Juan Miguel Zubiri of Bukidnon and Manny Pacquiao of Sarangani represent Mindanao. As of the 2019 polls, no member of any political clan from the Visayas is in the Senate. (snip)