Getting Prepared For The Philippines > Boats

Living aboard a sailboat

(1/2) > >>

balutsky:
It is always my dream to sail.  Now that I'm retired, I'm thinking of making my dreams a reality.  I'm thinking of buying a used sailboat to live aboard.  As far as experience in sailing is concern, I guess it is safe to say that I'm a novice.  I'm planning on going back to the States next year in the spring, to take some classes to get ASA (American Sailing Association) certified.  I'm also planning on buying a used boat and sailed it back here in the Philippines.  I was wondering if we have any member of this group that have any sailing experience and experience on living aboard.  Also what are the pitfalls in buying a used sailboat?  I cannot afford to buy a new boat.

FastWalk:
I don't have experience with sail,  but some with cruiser.   Your plan sure sounds like fun.

How large will your crew be ?  family ?

David690:

--- Quote from: balutsky on June 23, 2017, 09:02:22 PM ---It is always my dream to sail.  Now that I'm retired, I'm thinking of making my dreams a reality.  I'm thinking of buying a used sailboat to live aboard.  As far as experience in sailing is concern, I guess it is safe to say that I'm a novice.  I'm planning on going back to the States next year in the spring, to take some classes to get ASA (American Sailing Association) certified.  I'm also planning on buying a used boat and sailed it back here in the Philippines.  I was wondering if we have any member of this group that have any sailing experience and experience on living aboard.  Also what are the pitfalls in buying a used sailboat?  I cannot afford to buy a new boat.

--- End quote ---