Technical Stuff > Internet Connections & TV

Internet

(1/11) > >>

:
There are a number of providers both cable and wireless and there is usually a choice in the larger cities. Outside these areas the only choice is wireless and the biggest provider is SmartBro. They use the Smart cellphone towers which gives them a very wide coverage. The problem is that they can be very very slow. Down to 0 at times. I have been using them for over 2 years and have frequently complained about the slow speeds. They advertise speeds burstable to 384kb/s and I was told by one of their technical staff that anything below 200kb/s was considered a problem. Up to very recently my speed was a maximum of 150kb/s at 6.00am dropping to around 70kb/s later in the morning. I complained many times, and even changed my CP over to Smart to get free access to their technical help. I then found their customer help email address on the Smart website  customercare@smart.com.ph and started emailing them. The girl at customer care (Rea) always replied promptly and was very inventive in her apologies. Things started to happen and I got calls from the technical section. After several of these sessions they agreed that my base station was congested. They installed more equipment then more customers which took us back to square one. This went on for several months then suddenly I started getting speeds above 300kb/s. The moral of this story is, complain repeatedly and politely and you should get results. If you want faster speeds then you should look into PLDT or one of the cable companies.

Colin

Calatrava_Kano: